Stretching..Who Does and Who Doesn't?

Wayne Whiting

Barefooters
Mar 8, 2012
Some comments were made in another thread about stretching and I didn't want to take that thread off topic. I've been running for 38 years, 13 marathons and 8 ultras. I started stretching when I started running in 1975 after reading George Sheehan's first book on running. Over the years I have been inconsistent in stretching. I probably haven't stretched regularly for 15 years. I am only aware of one scientific research study on stretching and it was inconclusive on whether stretching improved performance or prevented injury.

So please enlighten me on any studies you might be aware of that show stretching to be a beneficial practice. I am not interested in anecdotal testimonies as I'm sure there are thousands of those out there, but rather controlled scientific studies. Thanks!

Reactions: happysongbird