stress fracture dag nabbit

ashley

Barefooters
Oct 6, 2011
folsom Louisiana
Well, I had an injury a few months back and decided to lay of running for about a month. First jog back i was in a lot of pain that just wasn't going away so i went to a podiatrist. It was a stress fracture. its been another 2 months and the doc cleared me to run but says only in shoes with some support. I said poo on that and decided to go barefoot. I seem to do fine till 3 miles then i feel very sore again. I am frustrated and don't want to give up barefoot. It has been a miracle for pain in the rest of my body. Would it be terrible of me to invest in a pair of lightly padded shoes to wear while my foot completes the healing process and strengthens? I have thought about wearing them on longer jogs. I have been running barefoot for nearly 2 years and this is my first injury. I don't want to lose the progress I have made, but I want to jog and heal properly as well. Also my doctor said I could start back running and that pain would be normal as long as it wasn't an 8 or 9 on the pain scale it would be ok...is that true?

Do you have pain after 3

Do you have pain after 3 miles running in shoes? Compare there.

You might want to pose your questions in the Ask the Docs forum.

If studies' results about running impact in shoes versus barefoot are true, running with padding wouldn't do anything to help lessen the force of impact. If anything, these studies show that we impact far harder when wearing padding than we do while running barefoot. What's to guarantee you that you won't run harder in shoes? At least when you are running barefoot, you aren't going to be just pounding the pavement but running more lightly because of the harder surfaces.