Straightened my bunions

Sid

Barefooters
Jan 1, 2011
Florida
I posted the following in another thread, and TJ asked me to post it here as well.
http://www.thebarefootrunners.org/index.php?posts/147995
I don't have Morton's Neuroma. I did have bunions, but I've managed to straighten them after 3 years of stretching and exercises. In the process, I've restored some of the natural spacing between the toes. (The bunion bumps and bursal sacs remain, but I'm hoping that they might improve after a few more years.)

I'm no foot expert, but I've learned a lot from other people's experiences, so I'm sharing mine. After all, isn't that what forums are for?

I have tried Yoga Toes. They were pretty tight at first, and offer a light stretch now. I got to the point where I could sleep with them at night, but ended up kicking them off when they became uncomfortable. They also woke me up whenever I moved my feet under the sheets, as the rubber sticks to the sheets. I think that the manufacturer doesn't recommend them overnight, because as far as I can tell from diagrams, the blood vessels and nerves run between the toes. If the circulation is cut off and someone doesn't kick them off, they could wake up with gangrenous toes!

I have not tried Correct Toes, but I have tried similar individually sold spacers. They don't stay in place without socks and shoes. I slowly worked up to the point where I'd have 2-3 between the toes 1-4. I did not intend to increase the spacing between all of my toes, but had to add more spacers to the rest of the toes, while my big toes were straightening out. If I only put spacers between my 1st and 2nd toes, my big toes would have pushed the smaller toes off to the side, making them crooked!