Sore medial meniscus while running in vff

Fancy Free

Barefooters
May 9, 2011
I ran a 10K on sat. (11:31 min miles) I've been running in vff for about 3 months following a 4 month bout with tendonitis in my foot. Around mile 5 my right knee started hurting. I injured it 30 years ago (I'm 53) and it has been weak ever since. This is the second time since running in the vff that the knee has hurt. It recovers quickly, about a week. I've decide to transition into bfr. Any suggestions on avoiding knee problems? Should I wear a knee brace while running?

NO knee braces while running

NO knee braces while running unless there is a major structural problem!!! which it doesn't sound like you have. If you start running with a brace that knee will only get weaker and your issues magnified. If the pain has only happened twice in the vffs and you've been running in them for three months then it's not the shoes or you would be having the pain all the time. Your injury is 30 years old...was it ever fixed? Healed properly? Etc. An injury should have healed given the amount of time since it happened so I would have to assume that you are either still dealing with compensation (subconciously) for it which by this point has become a full on adaptation and the issue is only manifesting under certain circumstances.

First suggestion would be to try and find a correlation of scenario, terrain, or anything else that is similar in the two times it started hurting. If so then you may have an answer and can work to correct it. The medial meniscus is there to support torking motions in the knee as well as offer shock absorption between the tibia and femur. A lot of uneven terrain and a weak knee could cause a flare up of pain in that area. The fact that the pain goes away with a weeks rest is a good sign that maybe there was some outside factor causing this issue in these two instances.