Shoes...

Scott G

Barefooters
Mar 7, 2017
Serious question: Does anyone race faster barefoot then they do with shoes? Injury concern aside, if I want to go as fast as possible then I feel like I need to wear shoes and I was wondering if anyone had a different point of view.

I currently run in Vibrams, but was contemplating transitioning back to trainers. Sorry, not completely barefoot...

Reactions: Barefoot TJ
depends on the distance and the surface,

but so far, half marathon (road) became easier and faster without shoes (1h26 barefoot and no reason to try with shoes anymore).

maybe one day I'll be able to say the same for longer distances and / or more chanllenging surfaces.

I ran faster barefoot than in shoes or VFFs. It hurt my feet to run in shoes. That could be why, but I also think it's because I felt free and lighter without shoes.

Reactions: Tyler J L
I am still learning to run properly on barefoot, but I recognize your view. When I want to go faster, my technique changes and I prefer something on my feet as well.
But I want to get good technique, so right now I am not doing fast intervals anymore

Reactions: Barefoot TJ
Thanks for your POVs. I am just trying to decide between gravitating back to shoes or continue on my path and which will let me maximize my speed. Not all races I enter have nice pavement and there is less to worry about when running with shoes on your feet. No sidestepping uneven pavement or watching out for gravel the whole time. Even with Vibrams, gravel and rocks are not a pleasant experience. I think just the fact that I could run without thinking where my feet are landing might make me faster...

The issue I am having is finding a shoe that doesn't bother my feet or feel rediculously clunky now that I have adapted to Vibrams. Maybe I'll go with you guys and just take everything off my feet. Decisions, decisions...