Shoes for BCT

jouno53

Barefooters
Oct 13, 2011
Hello everyone,

I leave for BCT at Ft. Sill on May 29th. I have been running in my minimalist Merrell shoes for several months, however, I cannot go much more than 3 miles without my cavles being sore for days on end. I've been dealing with a bit of a pulled upper calf as well, most likely from trying to do too much too soon and not properly stretching/foam rolling.

I am able to train in PT with my ROTC detachment using my Merrells, however, I have the ability to recover from PT much more than I will for the 8 weeks at basic, which involves much more sustained running.

My question is, should I purchase a pair of shoes like the Nike Free sneakers that will enable me to switch between midfoot striking/heel striking as needed?

What are your thoughts on this matter?

Thank you for your advice.

When you can run without the

When you can run without the ROTC, run barefoot, ditch the shoes. See if your calves treat you better. Let your feet lead you. Let your feet limit your ability to do to much too soon. Stay away from Nike-anything. Heel-striking as needed? Heel-striking is never needed. Good luck.

When I went into basic my

When I went into basic my shoes were taken from me and I had to purchase one of three pair they offered me. Good luck. I had no choice in running shoes.

I had to purchase some but if

I had to purchase some but if you bring your own you can just put those on. As long as you can put socks on under them to be uniform. A lot of people come to basic barely able to run a mile, so they start you at that point and slowly move you up to about 5 miles. 2 is the PT test. So I think you will be fine.

Not sure when you did BCT