Jul 26, 2012
Germany
Hi everyone,

I've got two questions:

1. Am I bending my knees enough?

vlcsnap-2012-08-20-21h58m55s164.png
vlcsnap-2012-08-20-21h59m48s229.png
vlcsnap-2012-08-20-22h00m14s22.png

2. I know that relaxation is very important for barefoot running. But I don't understand how to do so. Should I completely relax my calves muscles too, when I'm bending my knees like Barefoot Ken Bob (Video here)? When doing so, I feel that achilles tendons are permanently stretched and begin to hurt.

Please help an absolute beginner :)

Thank you!

With any change in technique just remember to take things slowly, if something hurts back off for a while. It can be very easy to over-think things when you're first starting out so just take things slowly and your form will come naturally.

Reactions: Barefoot Dama
I think its easier to use the cadence as a goal. I find as I run and keep
my metronome beeping at 180 that I can play around with all sorts of
"micro" adjustments to my form, more knee bending is one. But just
trying to bend you knees more in isolation from the whole form might
be a bad idea anyway.

As skedaddle said, take it slow :)

Basically, if the foot is landing just in front of the center of mass, as it is in Ken Bob's video, you're bending your knee properly. The two main cues are this, proper foot landing, and good posture. Most things will fall into place after that, or require minor tweaking. Trust your soles to tell you how to run. They either know already, or will figure it out faster than you (conscious brain). Meanwhile read up a bit, intellectualize the process a bit, and start to self-critique your form after you've established some kind of base--like when your pads are developed and you can run at least three miles comfortably.

Reactions: Jaybird
Personally, I think the whole 180 thing is just a good place from which to deviate and not a hard and fast rule.