plantar fasciitis question

Barefoot Shaky

Barefooters
Jul 31, 2012
I'm fairly new to running period, very new to barefoot running. A few months ago a started getting pain in the bottom of my left foot. Internet research leads me to believe its plantar fasciitis. When I run barefoot I don't have this pain. I just can't run far yet so I still run some with shoes. Today, I ran a mile barefoot with no problems. I then ran 2.5 miles with shoes. When I put my shoes on and started running I had instant pain, so I ripped out the sole inside the shoe (Adidas Cross trainer) and had no more issues other than trying to keep my barefoot form. Are the shoes causing me to strain my arch? How? What are some good exercises to strengthen the arch? Thanks.

Great question! The classic symptoms of plantar fasciitis is pain in the bottom of the heel or arch after a period of rest. Pain is typically described as sharp and radiate behind the heel into the Achilles tendon or forward into the middle of the plantar fascia.

I see many runners with plantar fasciitis - and they are almost always shod runners. Although there are many theories, I believe the high rate of plantar fasciitis in heel strikers is due to the inability to absorb ground reaction forces which stresses the plantar fascia.

When you are running barefoot or minimalist your foot is able to pre-contract to prepare for foot strike and is more efficient at absorbing ground reaction forces. It is almost like the plantar fascia is pre-loaded when you strike the ground with a barefoot pattern vs. with the heel strike pattern.

For you, the most important thing right now is to control the stress to the plantar fascia by stretching the calves and strengthening the foot. There are two types of foot exercises you want to do: concentric and eccentric.
One of my favorite concentric exercises is to put a ball between heels and below the ankle bones, rise onto the toes while squeezing the ball between the feet.