No More Holding Back....Speed

Barefoot Larry

Barefooters
Apr 5, 2010
Ocean, NC
Hi, I have been holding back for almost two years, but my feet are strong now. I have been practicing maintaining a 7:30 m/m pace for several miles. Until now, I have been holding back. Everything seems to be working, feet aren't raw from change of speed. I will make an attempt to run a 8K at this pace in October. Nates simple breathing advice has also helped.

How many people are practicing barefoot speed work? How is it going for you?

I made the same decision a

I made the same decision a couple months ago, It's worked out well for me. I've run a 5k at 6:58 pace and a 1/2 marathon at 7:57 pace since. Going for

I didn't have any breathing

I didn't have any breathing issues. I'm a mouth breather, I never seem to get enough oxygen breathing through my nose.

Ramzev is being modest - he

Ramzev is being modest - he ran the last section of that half marathon on the worst surface for barefoot running I have ever see anywhere. Another barefoot runner at that race told me he had to walk it and that, likewise, it was the worse he had seen. I think Ram had to go fast so as not to actually ever touch the ground, but that street has reduced me to tears (it's closed to traffic every weekend for running and cycling in the summer so I have had experience).

Hey Larry,You have a good

Hey Larry,

You have a good running base now for sure, try going to this running site and put a your best race time and it will give you some pacing info for your faster training paces. http://www.mcmillanrunning.com/mcmillanrunningcalculator.htm

I just do barefoot aerobic running till I get closer to a race... then say 6 - 8 weeks out from the race I do 10 - 20 % of my barefoot miles at tempo paces similar to what the McMillan calculater suggests... works well for me. I don't do any faster speed work than that except the races themselves.