Newby Barefoot runner from NJ

Woodsman

Barefooters
Jan 13, 2012
Hello everyone

I just wanted to introduce myself.

I have been running in the best shoes money can buy for about 4 years (well maybe 2ndor 3rdbest). After trying to train for a marathon a few times and falling short due to various injuries I decided to try something new. I started dabbling in barefoot last spring and summer, walking almost daily barefoot and still running in sneakers. I received a copy of “Born to Run” for Christmas, and I have been inspired to go jump fully on the barefoot/minimalist bandwagon.

I cut way back on my mileage and have been running in sockwa amphibians on both road and treadmill for the last month. I’d like to go full barefoot, but it’s still too cold outside and a sign at the gym specifically states “proper footwear” is required. Other than some sore calf muscles, I think it is going well. I could still use a lot of advice and hoping pick up a few pointers.

Kind regards

Brian

Welcome Brian! We're

Welcome Brian! We're neighbors, I'm in Delaware. We'll be baggin up all your trash off our beaches and sending it back to you soon...
wink.png
Sounds like you're doing it right, taking it slow. It's good to hear about a "newbie" who is taking the proper time to stay healthy.

That being said, this thread will now be hijacked to argue whether gyms should allow barefooting or not...

barefoot ramzev

barefoot ramzev said:
Welcome Brian! We're neighbors, I'm in Delaware. We'll be baggin up all your trash off our beaches and sending it back to you soon...
wink.png

Thanks, but you can keep the cast of "Jersey Shore". :p

I am trying to be careful. I have gotten myself into trouble before. As my doctor was so kind to point out, I am not in my twenties anymore.

Hey... I'm from Jersey. Way

Hey... I'm from Jersey. Way up north, Ringwood. I have relatives in West Milford.

After living there and in Maryland, I think the barefooting is easier here. ;)