Newbie ( three) six month tally

IHL

Barefooters
Aug 25, 2011
On 4th August 2011 I put my Mizune running shoes away.

Since then I have managed to clock up 305 km running. Roughly 100 km per month. This has been a mix of VFF running and totally barefoot. I started out with VFFs, but have ended up preferring barefoot. Weather does restrict me a bit though (wet and cold does not mix with an old non-freezing cold injury).

I have not broken anything. But I am sure I have made just about every other TooMuchTooSoon mistake described here and elsewhere. But more than that: I have had a lot of fun. And I continue to have fun. I hope to be able to say I have transitioned properly sometime next year. I know I am still a complete novice.

Today I could happily do an 11 mile run in 1 hour 29 minutes. Not a blistering speed, but not completely lame either. I could do it without feeling like a sock with a knot in it at the end. I could have carried on to to do a few more miles at the same pace as well. I can move about easily without any pain, and I am looking forward to a similar run om Tuesday.

Hopefully I will find a way of keeping it up through the winter. We easily get minus 10 to 20 centigrade here from December to March and a lot of snow and ice but I am sure I will find a way.

Oh, and by the way. I used to have a throbbing pain in my knees after every run. It has not been an issue since 4th August.

I enjoy my BF and minimalist running and look forward to carrying on. Thnx to all the great advise and stories on this website. It has really helped me keeping my own blisters in perspective.

All the best,

IHL

Wonderful news, IHL!  Even

Wonderful news, IHL! Even Ken Bob admits that many years later, he was still learning how to do it right, so you're in good company.

Final milage barefoot or