New to this concept with questions

Charlie Bourbeau

Barefooters
Sep 20, 2017
Hello all, I am new to the concept of minimalist running but am very interested in learning more about this. I have a few questions.

1) is a zero drop shoe equivalent to BF running mechanically? I don't think I would ever go completely BF?
2) I currently run 35-40 mpw in regular Nike running shoes. If/when I switch to zero drop shoes how far back do I have to dial back my mpw?
3) what is the best resource for learning the stride/foot landing/etc for the transition? This forum?
4) I am primarily a 5k guy but also do long runs once per week and run the occasional marathon. Is this style good for all of the above?

I am sure that I will have more questions to follow.

Thank you, Charlie

Reactions: trevize1138
Welcome! if you search the forums for transitioning you will find many threads on the topic. That's where I got my start. I also recommend reading Barefoot Running Step by Step by Ken Bob.

1. running in zero drop shoes will give your feet a false sense of security with the protection of the sole. during my first transition with zero drop and I ended up with hip issues because my form didn't really change and I was still heel striking. BF is daunting but the immediate feedback you get from your feet hitting the ground is something you cannot replicate with zero drop. but if shoes are a must, pay attention to the drop height and gradually work your way down to zero. I'm in the military and shoes are a must, so in my off time i'm completely barefoot, but I still rotate between brooks gylcerins or pureflows during pt.