New to semi-barefoot from South Mississippi

Good morning..... I'm gonna tell you a story about an overweight middle aged man that is trying to get his health back on track, sit down and stay awhile and he might even have some questions for you at the end.

A little over a year ago I joined a men's ministry, Soulcon, which I am still a part of. Through Soulcon I have learned to love running. Last year I was 225lbs and by the end of the year I was at 190lbs and feeling the best I ever have. I ran a 10k and a half marathon by the end of last year. My goal for the end of this year is to run a full marathon, the Mississippi Gulf Coast Marathon, in December.

I have been running in Saucony Freedom Iso 2's for about 6-8 months of that time. I have tried Hoka's and couldn't adjust and Brooks which hurt me and seemed to alter my stride. I started seeing a sports medicine chiropractor about 3 months ago for shin splints and pain when running. He has worked on my feet and calves.... almost seems like a high dollar massage of one muscle at a time. Through time he eventually looked at my pelvis and said it was off kilter, adjusted it and the next couple of runs went great. Then the pain came back. I found in time it was my bed giving me some lower back issues, still have the bed but replacing soon, and the lower back is what was altering my stride and turning one foot out a little. I had him adjust my lower back and pelvis again, good for another week but came back. I eventually have given up on him adjusting that until i get a new bed.