New member in Hampshire UK

footloose2

Barefooters
Apr 27, 2011
Hi fellow barefoot runners.

I thought that it was time for me to join the barefoot running community!

I have been almost 100% barefoot since 1999. I have been running informally since then as part of my efforts to keep fit. In the early days I would run on the streets of Cardiff, Wales, often at night so that others would not see! For the last 9 years I have lived in a small village in Southern England. No one here has ever seen me with anything on my feet and I have gained a degree of notoriety as I volunteer for the village community farm which has received considerable publcity in the past.

I work as an xray doctor where I use birkenstocks when I am with patients. The staff are used to seeing me barefoot!

I particularly enjoy barefoot travel and hiking, having completed several barefoot trecking vacations. To combine my interests in running, barefooting and travel, I plan to participate in the India barefoot half marathon in November so I will need to increase my usual running distance of 6 miles. I usually run in the nature reserve behind my village so the surfaces are varied and natural. There are also some hills to get me fitter!

I hope to get encouragement from this group and would like to meet other barefoot runners. Maybe several of us can get together in Mumbai in November!

Reactions: Stephanie
I'm sure you will have plenty

I'm sure you will have plenty of company in Mumbai! Welcome here!

Barefoot TJ wrote:I'm sure

Barefoot TJ said:
I'm sure you will have plenty of company in Mumbai! Welcome here!

Many thanks!

I have measured how much further I need to get used to running before November and measured some routes on my local map. Quite shocking!

You can do it!  November is a

You can do it! November is a long time from now. Just find a good training plan and stay within its limits, don't run too far or too fast at any time, and keep building up gradually.