New Barefoot Rookie From Wisconsin

Mrizzo94

Barefooters
Sep 17, 2011
Hi there everyone. This place looks like an awesome place to begin my adventure as a bare footer! I recently decided I would begin my life as a bare foot runner because I have heard rumors that it will help me with my form. I'm also hoping it helps relieve the occasional pain in my knees.

I'm currently a Senior in High School and I can run a mean 5K in shoes.

Just ran a 16:23.7 5K at the University of Wisconsin - Parkside Cross Country Course.

Look forward to meeting most of you on here!

Mr. Izzo:Welcome to the

Mr. Izzo:

Welcome to the crew. This is a great group of folks to have as a reference and a pool of advisors. Barefoot running (BFR) can indeed do wonders for your form, joint pain, and the lifelong sustainability of your running. And dang, you are fast. I used to be fast; now I'm old and worn out. But I can still run BF. I'm an old soldier who wore down all of my joints, but particularly wore all of the cartilege completely out of my right hip running traditional heel-striking, long-striding and had the options of a hip replacement or no more running. I chose option 3, which is BFR. If I run 3 miles traditionally today, I'll be limping for 2 weeks. If I run 5 miles BF (which I'll be doing 6 times this week), I'll feel fine and continue to stay healthy and strong. I'm not fast anymore, but at least I can run now and should be able to continue doing so for another 50 years as far as I can tell.

Suggestions to successfully take up BFR:

1. Learn good form correctly and burn it into muscle memory before going all-out BF.

2. Take plenty of time to built up your plantar (sole) skin as well as all of your feet's connecting tissues and musculature that you don't use in shoes. Go barefoot as much as you can, and over as many different surfaces as you can.