need some new running shoes during the transition to BFR

get a move on

Barefooters
Jun 4, 2011
Hi, I'm new around here! Some background-I have been running in Nike Eclipse shoes for several years and recently started adding in some BFR-i'm up to 10 min 2x a week. I absolutely love the feel of BFR, as soon as I start my body clicks into place and I feel a natural . I am going slowly with the BFR, but I am running the Army 10 miler in Oct. I have been wearing my NIkes for my longer runs but they are uncomfortable now that my feet and toes are spreading out, I get blisters when I run longer than 5 miles in them, I don't wear socks. The cushioning destabalizes me but I like the flexibility of the sole.

I need to find a transition shoe so I don't overdue the stress on my feet, which shoes to get? I have tried Merrel Trail glove and they were too narrow and the arch felt restrictive and stiff. VFFs change my gait in an unnatural way, I don't mind walking in them but running is definitely out. Is there a shoe that will protect my still delicate muscles and bones without too much cushion, zero drop and a flexible sole?

My plan is to do the ARmy 10 miler in whatever transition shoes I get and keep adding BFR each time I run with the end goal of doing all my running BF or barely covered (I run on paved trails in the woods with a lot of debris, I will need some kind of covering to prevent cuts.)

Thank you!

I'm just beginning, as well,

I'm just beginning, as well, but the usual advice with 'barefoot' shoes (like VFFs or the Merrell line -- I know 'barefoot' shoes is an absurd term, but I'm just using the usual phrase) is that you shouldn't do something in those that you couldn't do barefoot, at least on adequate surface. In other words, you should expect the same stresses on your feet as when you go barefoot -- or maybe worse, since the protection (to your skin) might cause you to push your feet further than they're ready to go.