LHRT in Conjuction W/BF Running?

1babystep

Barefooters
Mar 30, 2011
Just wondering if there is anyone else out there running barefoot for the purpose of LHRT? After reading material written by Phil Mafetone/ Stu Mittleman/Hadd, wanted to spend some time exploring the benefits of this type of training for endurance. From what I understand, the hardest part is having to go "slow" enough to reap the rewards... So, since going sans shoes pretty much initially forces one to slow down, thought perhaps this would be a good match...

Thoughts, comments, concerns?

Tom

I think the low heart rate

I think the low heart rate training is a great way to get in shape. I have Phil Mafetone's newest training book...it fits very closely with the way I like to train. The slow part is based on roughly a 70 - 75% max effort which is basically just easy running to build up a running base then later add in small amounts of speedier runs at around 90% effort. I have been doing this for about 3 - 4 years...I had just gravitated to this on my own and later discovered Phil Mafetone has been advocating this for many years. Over time your slow runs wont be so slow but it could take a while...my slow runs have increased by about 2.5 - 3 min per mile over that time...LHRT isn't the only reason but for sure part of it.

The down side would be using the heart rate monitor...that may too gadgety for some but I think you can do this without one but you will have to learn body awareness. Learning body awareness and barefoot running go hand in hand and both can take awhile.

I would love to get a hold of