just starting out bf

Fancy Free

Barefooters
May 9, 2011
Hello,

I've been running in vff successfully for 3 months. I switched to them after recovering from an injury and 4 mo of no running, so it was easy to transistion slowly...slowly was all I could do. I'm still not back to my top shape (which isn't that good anyways) but moving forward. So I think my form would improve if I ran barefoot. Started walking around yesterday bf. But it's cold here, there are no sidewalks (santa cruz CA mountains - redwood forest) Also started running in place bf in the house. I'm thinking I will gradually increase bf time while still running in my vff. Whatda-y'all think?

I just joined the bfs yesterday...so good to talk to folks, read your experiences

Can you drive anywhere where

Can you drive anywhere where there are some asphalt or concrete paths or walkways? If so, it's best to first learn to run barefoot by actually running barefoot, then only use the shoes when you need them. Good luck, and let us know how you progress, and welcome!

Hi Fancy Free! Nice to meet

Hi Fancy Free! Nice to meet you! I agree with TJ. I learned my lesson that its best to start barefoot if you can. What about putting on a nice warm pair of wool socks for running around outside? The Santa Cruz Mtns would be such a great place to run!! I'm so jealous! You can always give it a shot. It'll keep your feet warm enough and give you a chance to understand your form better.

Hi there,You might want to

Hi there,

You might want to try doing plenty of calf stregthening exercises too as your calves are going to have to transform themselves to run barefoot, in fact your whole lower legs have to undergo a transformation, you can speed it along by doing eccentric calf dips. I did plenty of balancing exercises too, a medicine ball is good to try, the heavier they are the harder to balance on.

Cheers

Neil

Thank you all, for the feed