Is it only me?

Cali Girl

Barefooters
May 12, 2010
I'm new to running and just finished week 8 of the cto5k program so am up to 3 miles, 2.5ish of it running and the rest my warm up and cool down walks. For maybe the first 1/2 to 3/4 of a mile I suffer. I feel out of breath almost as soon as I start, my feet and legs feel tight and I have to talk myself through it. I know it will pass but my brain starts thinking... this is too hard.

Once past that point my joints/muscles loosen up, my breathing evens out and I settle into a nice comfortable pace, but until then it is just rough going. Is it only me this happens to? Maybe because I'm a noob or does it take others a little bit to settle in to a run as well?

it's not just you.  it

it's not just you. it happens a large number of runners. it still happens to me and i ran professionally. for some people it's just the way your body responds to the sudden change in work load. when i ran competitively i would sometimes run miles before my actual race trying to get myself already past that point.

is your warm up long enough? are you feeling that way after the warm up or is that during your warm up? i still to this day know that my first mile is just going to be unpleasant and i push through it knowing that the rest of my run will feel great.

i have seen in some runners that this goes away as they get stronger and in some cases like me it never does and it just becomes part of your norm. i hope it gets easier for you

You are not a noob,  what you

You are not a noob, what you experience is very normal. I can take a 5 mile run and by the time it's almost over I just start to feel in my comfort zone. It takes me awhile as well. I just started to feel good at mile 15 during my marathon, right when I hit mile 15 I felt like a million bucks, everything was connecting.

It takes me about 1 - 2 miles