Is it normal for my calves and Achilles tendons to STILL hurt?

C. Beth Run.

Barefooters
Jul 6, 2010
I've been running BF (now sometimes minimalist too) for 2 1/2 months, and my calves and Achilles tendons are STILL sore!! Am I doing something wrong? I'm up to 11.75 miles a week (last week). Keeping my mileage increases reasonable (generally well under 10% a week.) Running 4 days a week. Very hesitant to decrease mileage, since I'm trying to work up to my first half marathon at the beginning of December.

Sometimes I'm achy during a run, but not usually bad, and it USUALLY gets better as I run. Lately it seems like I'm almost always at least a little sore during everyday activities. Everything is pretty mild at this point, just annoying.

Any thoughts? Will this eventually work itself out? I do use my foam roller regularly and for my Achilles sometimes I use a golf ball to massage it.

Hey C Beth,Well since I

Hey C Beth,

Well since I started transitioning in January, every time I was sore in my calves I would make sure to take an extra day off and do plenty of stretching and rolling. Then again, I only ran 3 days a week till about month 4. I started Jan 8th and worked up to a half on June 13th, with only about 4 weeks of running 4 times a week. I feel that the extra day of rest in a week really helped my body recover better.

As I run now (training for a full) I have been doing 4 days a week mostly but sometimes only 3 if I need an extra day after my long run. I then try to make up a few miles from my other runs.