how long before I get my speed back

Mary

Barefooters
Apr 3, 2010
I've been using the evos for two months, and I love them. I'm just not as fast as I used to be; I'm about 1 minute off. How long does it take to get back to my previous speed?

Mary

I wonder why your speed

I wonder why your speed decreased that much. I mean, sure, they don't have all the padding of traditional boat anchors, but they still offer some protection.

For me, it took me over a year to get my speed back once I gave up the shoes, but then I even got faster, and no I'm not saying running barefoot had anything to do with it, it may have and it may not have, the jury is still out. But I took 15 minutes exactly off my half marathon time from the last time I ran a shod half marathon to the first time I ran a barefoot half marathon.

Now that I have had surgery to correct Morton's Neuroma in both of my feet, once I've healed and gotten some fitness back, I really plan on testing this out. I can't wait, but I'm not holding onto any high expectations either.

It'll come...be patient. ;-)

I've been running barefoot or

I've been running barefoot or in VFF's for the past five months. So far my race results have all been faster than with shoes. I feel I'm much smoother now. That effecient form will eventually help you out. It took me a long time to build up the confidence to go fast. I was always afraid I was going to destroy the soles of my feet if I ran fast. Once I started doing my usual repeats and speedwork, and noticed my feet didn't combust, I had the confidence to race fast.

I still find myself not fully trusting my feet when it comes to tight, fast turns on a paved race course. Especially a sharp downhill turn. Just be patient. It takes a while to fully adjust, but I think the payoff is totally worth it.

I'm not much ahead of you