"heel" pain

mikee002

Barefooters
Jun 26, 2010
Hi, the VAST majority of my miles are in very minimal shoes with a couple barefoot/VFF's thrown in. I follow the "style" of evolution running. I've been running like this now for a few months and I love it so much more than the heel pounding that I used to do.

Recently I've noticed some pain in my heel bone, specifically the back of my heel, about an inch off the ground. I have no pain at all in my achilles tendon, it even seems lower on the heel than where the achilles and the heel meet up. I'll include a little graphic that might help. Both heels are the same, it's not unbearable. After a couple minutes of running it goes away and it's only slightly painful to the touch for the rest of the day. I know I could probably stretch my lower leg/foot better, because the bottoms of my feet are tight/sore when getting up in the AM or after sitting for a long time. I've had PF flare ups in the past, and it's not anywhere near as painful as that was. boy... I'm long-winded, sorry!

TL:DR - my heel hurts where highlighted in the img339.imageshack.us/img339/9489/heelm.jpg

From what I learned recently

From what I learned recently from a "hypersensitivity" issue I had with some antibiotics that affected my tendons, that low part of the back of your foot is also part of the Achilles heel region. Yes, you should stretch everyday, at least twice, but be sure to stretch it gently. Good luck.

You also might try rolling

You also might try rolling the soleus--I gave directions on how in this comment from a previous thread. You won't actually be rolling the place that hurts, but rolling the soleus can often help with ankle/heel/arch pain. Good luck!

yup that's still an achilles