Greetings from the Netherlands, Goes to be precise, or so it goes....:)

Mickey

Barefooters
Mar 23, 2023
Nice to meet you all !

Well, here a little introduction to my journey into barefoot running. Last year i started training for a hiking holiday in Scotland (west highland way) which i would walk with a friend of mine. He already was into minimal running and hiking with Altra shoes. After I discovered there existed something like "barefoot" shoes I immediately bought them. Walking barefoot without being looked at as a bum, awesome.
With some vivobarefoot shoes on my foot I started walking, first a 5k then a 10k to max. 15k. It dawned on me, with if I take my shoes of completely ??? It was...it was..awesome, a sense of freedom and i could feel everything, feeling, feels are my fuel, no brakes on the feel train XD So with 3 months of totally barefoot walking under my belt, I discovered that the transition time needed a lot more time to be able to fully walk 35k on barefoot shoes (fully barefoot on the trail in Scotland looked insane to me) so a bought a pair of altra's for my hiking trip. It was my last pair of cushioned shoes. Continued walking barefoot till the winter came, foremost with commuting. From home to train, from the train to my work place where i wore barefoot shoes, daily a 6 to 10k.