Glasses and running

Maupuia

Barefooters
Jun 14, 2012
Wellington, New Zealand
Hope this isn't too much of a newbie question! But as someone who's recently started running and wearing glasses I have no experience here.

So, I've just started wearing glasses full-time. But I haven't been wearing them while running. That seems ok for road running.

I'm keen to do more trail running, though, and the couple of times I've done that so far, it feels like wearing glasses would help seeing what's ahead, footing etc.

Do those of you who wear glasses, wear them running? Are they the same pair as for normal wear? My "normal" glasses aren't really suitable for running, so I'm wondering if getting a lightweight pair, specifically for running and other outdoor stuff (hiking) would be a good idea.

Thanks for any thoughts.

Mike

Reactions: Sid
I wear them to get out of bed. I do wear contacts sometimes but find glasses almost as comfortable. If they feel insecure just find a strap you can put on them so they don't fall off. oh and I do wear the same pair but they are transitions.

I wear glasses all the time and they don't really bother me much. I tried wearing contacts but I've only found one specific kind doesn't bother my eyes and it just happens that those are the expensive kind. I myself, near sighted, cannot run barefoot without my glasses. That's just waiting for an accident (maybe not accident because it was my choice to not wear glasses?) to happen. I'm pretty sure I would miss seeing a clear broken bottle without my glasses and trails would be murder for me without my glasses. My glasses are smaller and sportier I guess than what my parents used to buy me when I was a kid and they don't bother me at all other than fog up after a cold run as I go inside the house.