For those who have had plantar fasciitis

PB Junkie

Barefooters
Oct 31, 2011
Idaho
I've been battling a bad case of PF for about 5 or 6 months. I'm going to physical therapy, rolling my foot and calves and using a frozen water bottle. It is better, but still healing. I think part of the problem is being a 51 year old female whose hormones are affecting my fascia, tendons and ligaments.

My physical therapist said it seems like my arches have fallen a bit and of course, said I need supportive shoes, blah blah blah.

My question: have any of you gone through this and what was the final outcome? Were you able to continue with minimalist shoes or barefoot?

I suffered a bad case about 2.5 years ago. Has your PT tried the electrical pads and or Graston? I think these treatments helped mine, plus I tried many other things. I did go back to footwear and even some soft arch supports during the healing phase.

No episodes since being healed. Running has been going great. Not barefoot running much, but I am sure I would be fine if I wanted to.

I posted this back in 2010 to another member. Not to be lazy...my mind slips sometimes in my old age. ;) This was before my final MN surgeries in 2012. I was still in transition period, which I don't recommend to anyone, as it's best to just ditch the shoes completely and start over, fresh, but hey, you all can live through my poor choices and experiences, right?

I've developed a case of Plantar Fasciitis (PF) too from walking on my heels trying to avoid putting weight on the balls of my feet where the cyrosurgery [for Morton's Neuroma] was performed. I did this for the first three months after the surgery and still do it a little, since my problem with Morton's Neuroma (MN) (directly caused by wearing and running in shoes) was not resolved by the surgery; if anything, it's worse than before the surgery. Sucks, I know!