Chronic Muscle Soreness, anyone have this?

barefoot.zumba.runner

Barefooters
Apr 3, 2010
I haven't been keeping track of how long this has been going on (months), but it seems like my body is always sore. I thought it might be from over training, but even during my rest week I was sore. Particularly more sore when I exercise. I've been an active person, getting regular moderate to high intensity exercise 3-6days a week for 11years. So it's not like I'm new to exercise and my muscles aren't used to this. Any thoughts?

A bit of medical history...I've got Hashimoto's Disease (autoimmune disease that attacks the thyroid) and Sinus Bradycardia (slowed heart rate, resting is about 54bpm)

How is the quality of your

How is the quality of your sleep? Failure to spend enough time in deep sleep will leave your body short on human growth hormone which is needed to repair muscle tissue damaged by workouts (the good kind of damage, where rebuilding leads to getting stronger.) If you aren't getting the hormone release, that damage doesn't get repaired and just adds up over time leaving you with sore aching muscles. Often, this is given the diagnosis of Fibromyalgia, but is easily fixed by correcting the sleep problems. When my RA flares up it interferes badly with sleep and I get the same muscle soreness. Generally half a Flexeril each night for a few nights takes care of the problem and gets my sleeping back on track (assuming I've gotten my RA back under control at the same time.)

Granted, I am not a doctor and this is just one possibility, but could be worth looking into.

Not a real clue. I have a

Not a real clue. I have a very low resting heartrate. 40-44 BPM too. and somethin called
  • You wouldn't by chance be on Statins would you?
  • What is your Vitimin D level, are you getting enough?
  • You're young I expect based on your picture, but are you taking CoQ10?
Just some initial thoughts.

Wendy, I feel like I get good