Cheers from San Diego, CA

etreas

Chapter Presidents
Aug 28, 2012
San Diego, CA
emiliereas.com
I've already met a few of you, thanks to IBRD, so a formal introduction is now far overdue. I've been running since about 1996 and only discovered barefoot running less than a year ago. Running shod, I was plagued with chronic hip and achilles injuries, all of which have disappeared after the switch away from traditional shoes. My transition hasn't been easy, however, as I recently suffered two metatarsal stress fractures from a classic case of too-much-too-soon.

I'm a marathoner and usually log 60-70 miles/week. Right now, I'm only logging about half that, as I'm trying to recover cautiously from my last fracture. Roughly 1/3 of my mileage is bare, the rest minimalist.

I usually run solo, but still love to connect with like-minded runners on occasion. I also walk barefoot 99% of the time, so if you stumble across a barefoot girl in Hillcrest, stop and say hi - it's probably me :)

I'm afraid NC is a little far away for me to join you on a run, but welcome to the crew. I'm glad to hear you've already been able to connect with some other folks from our group in your area. I hope they can join you on those occasions when you're looking for a running partner.

I had the same metatarsal stress fracture after beginning the transition unwisely. I was a 25-year running veteran who switched over due to a hip which all that running finally wore all of its cartilege away. To keep my mileage and speed up, I started in VFFs, which kept me from learning good BF form, which led to the stress fracture and 10 weeks of no running. This story which we've both experienced seems to be the unfortunate pattern for long-time runners who decide (or are forced) to transition from heel-striking and long-striding to mid/forefoot landing with the shorter, quicker cadence that BF and even minimimal running to an extent require.