Breakthrough

Discussion in 'Chapters' started by Neil_D, Oct 4, 2020.

1. Neil_D

Neil_D Chapter Presidents
    1. Australia
    2. Presidents

Hi All,
    Over the last few years my running has not been the best due to a persistent knee issue that I could not seem to fix. I saw physiotherapists who bound my feet, wanted me to wear orthotics, jabbed me with needles all to no avail.
    I saw a muscular skeletal therapist who helped but the fix only lasted a short while before the pain in the knee returned.
    Even with the knee pain I would still go out a few times a week to run and sometimes it was so difficult I would have to stop and walk back. Maybe it was time to stop (I can't say hang up my shoes) but I couldn't as I've been running since I was 14 years old, it's been my life.
    I have even been running in a few relay races recently as a stand in for Western Athletics club, I have not been happy with my performance though. It is hard trying to race with a jabbing pain in the knee.

The good news is, finally after 3 years I believe I have worked out what it was and have fixed it.
    It was so simple and staring me in the face. The exercises I did at the gym were not the ones that targeted the problem muscle. I did squats, lunges, leg presses, leg extensions, non of these made any difference. Then I found the one that did.
    It was the abductor exercises, the muscles that attached to the outer hip and form the glutes. I did the clamshell exercise, side leg lifts, abductor machine at the gym and found that when I went out for a run the pain had gone.
    It can't be that simple I though, maybe just a lucky run. I carried on with the exercises and went on another run and again, no problem. So,it looks like all along it was that, a referred problem from weakness in the hip area.
    So, if any others out there are having knee issues, first focus on the hip area muscles. Outer hip first.