Product Review

Barefooters
Apr 3, 2012
Reviewed by: orlyg1521
Date Product Reviewed: 06/04/2011
Product Type: Footwear

picture-8517.jpg

01.png

I purchased a pair of the Branca Running Sandals from http://www.runbranca.com/ with the 50% off sale. I am just getting started into BFR and came across the Huaracha design and was BFcurious ;)

The site is pretty sparse but well designed and easy to navigate, videos showed how to get measurements to send in and I recieved the sandals by mail in 3-4 days. What I got was a pair of 1/8 in. rubber rounded at the heel and left uncut and squared off at the toe. There is a rubber strap (thickness of an inner tube) that is attatched via grommets to either side under the malleolus ( ankle bone) and it goes around the back. The lace runs under the front of the sole between toes 1 & 2 thru 2 small holes and is covered by a rubber patch underneath. He has a choice of 15 sole colors and 22 lace colors. The sole is smooth on the bottom.

Lacing is straight forward, it took a few trys to get the tension right. I chose to modify the lacing from the video since I hate too much lacing flopping around. I brought the laces up between the toes, thru the grommets over the top and back thru the grommets and THEN tied then on top. I am eventually going to tie them off at the grommets to eliminate any bow on top, once I get the tensioned finalized. Then, following the videos, I traced and cut the sole to size. I used a teva sandal as a template for the roundness of the toe. If I had a do-over I would have given myself 2-3 cm more around the big toe area. So I recommend being conservative to first time and then fine tune the shape.