Blisters

ladycheshire5

Barefooters
Aug 16, 2011
I am very new to BF running. I have only been doing it for a month or so. I had plans to ditch the running shoes after my last event (1/2 marathon, June 5) and try minimalist shoes such as Vibram Five Fingers. After moving to a new city I found myself tight on money so I continued to run in my old shoes. I pushed myself too much for the event and ended up with what I'm pretty sure was Hip Bursitis. I tried many things to alleviate the pain, Advil, Ice, rest, start again slow. Nothing helped. I figured my shoes were worn out but not having extra money to buy a pair of minimal shoes I decided to just go barefoot! I went through the expected calf pain that a newbie would, now I'm passed that and low and behold no hip pain! That got me even more excited about BF running so I have continued. However, the blisters on the bottom of my feet are starting to bug me. I have some pictures I can upload if that would help. But, I don't know if it's just a matter of time? It seems like as one heals I get a new one along with discomfort. How long does it take to get past this phase? Does the skin on your soles get thicker eventually? I have been running on a predictable route, concrete and asphalt, that is smooth with minimal pebbles and debris. Much of it is up hill then down again. Max distance I've gone is 2 miles. I've cut it back to about 1/2 a mile because of the blisters/pain. Today I developed a pain in the ball of my foot on the left, but that's a different story and I saw another similar thread on that so I'm just going to take it easy and see what happens with that. But, blisters! What to do? Am I doing too much too quickly?

Thanks for any help.

Laura

I'm not a doctor, and I'm