Barefoot Todd Byers Completes His 102nd Barefoot Marathon - An Interview

todd1_cr.jpg

Barefoot Todd Byers Completes His 100th 102nd Barefoot MarathonAn InterviewThis is an interview long deserved and long overdue. As some of you may know, Barefoot Todd has completed his 102nd barefoot marathon. That huge accomplishment should not go unrecognized. Todd is quite possibly the only documented barefoot runner to acheive such status. Todd also stands as a testiment to those of us who struggle to complete even just one marathon, barefoot or shod. I was honored to be able to interview Todd about his running and am pleased to share it here with you.How long have you been running?
I ran track in high school but did not start distance running (farther than to the refrigerator for beer) until after I graduated college in 1986.How long have you been running barefoot?
I started in 2000 or 2001with Barefoot Ken Bob's influence and tutelege and do not intend to stop!!Why do you choose to run barefoot?First off, for me it truly IS a choice. I never had problems with wearing shoes like many people do as they continue their search for the "perfect"footwear nor did I feel that barefoot was the ONLY thing that would ever work for me. At times, Ken Bob has used me as a poster child because of that. Truly, proper running form sans shoes really DOES feel better and is more natural. Besides, saving money on shoes gives me more to enter events!!

How many marathons have you run, barefoot and shod?
With the addition of the Los Angeles Marathon this past week-end, I have completed 285 marathons total and 102 of the most recent ones have been barefoot. Do the ones with shoes even count?? : )Where and when was your first barefoot marathon?I ran my first barefoot marathon with Ken Bob at the San Diego Marathon of January 2004.Where was your most recent barefoot marathon?