Barefoot Running In The Rain Resulting In Hot Spots

Barefoot Larry

Barefooters
Apr 5, 2010
Ocean, NC
Just had to share this because it is frustrating. I have been barefoot running for 2 years now with no problems, except on rainy wet days. Every time I BFR on wet pavement, my foot is super raw for two days. Yesterdays run of 8 miles really left me hurting. On dry pavement I never have these issues. Does anyone else experience rawness, skin wear or any problems on when barefoot running on wet surfaces? Does anyone have any advice on how to deal with this. The reason I run on rainy days is because here in NC winter we have several rainy days in a row and I just can't sit in the house.

Feedback needed please,

Sincerly,

Barefoot (Raw Foot) Larry

I'm still new to barefooting

I'm still new to barefooting compared to you but I have the same issue. I'm looking for advices too. I didn't run in the rain recently but last time I did I decided to use my huaraches and destroyed them. Dead cow skin is even more sensitive than human skin!

For my next pair I painted a layer of PlastiDip to protect the leather and they did fine on wet pavement, but my feet are usually fine too if it's just a little wet. I didn't try running in the rain since then.

I'm not new to barefooting,

I'm not new to barefooting, but I am new to barefoot running. I'm only up to two miles with normal foot soreness.

I also live on the far northern CA coast. We are getting lots of rain here as normal.

I find that running in the rain makes my skin on my feet sensitive. After my runs the bottom of my feet are raw feeling. This feeling generally passes by the next day. I don't get hot spots, or blisters. Just the rawness on bottom of feet.