Barefoot running after a Knee replacement???

Horseman42

Chapter Presidents
Sep 6, 2010
Whitby, Ontario
Alright this is going to be hypothical mostly.

I was talking with my wife's uncle, and he recently (this fall) just had surgery for his knee and had a total knee replacement. He was stating that his doctor stated he can never run again (not that he was much of a runner before). I inquired if this also included barefoot running, and he stated that he actually made this inquiry (mostly for fun I assume), and his doctor stated "yes". I further asked why this was so, and my wife's uncle stated that it was because of the increased impact force.

Well I'm not a doctor but if I were to decrease the amount of impact I would have recomended barefoot running over regular running unless the impact was still too great. When you have runners who have no measurable impact (like Ken Bob), I would have thought that it may be at least remotely possible if this is the concern.

Is it possible for a person that has had a total knee replacement to run again, and if so would barefoot running be a better alternative to regular shod, coffin shoe running?

Note he is still healing from the surgery, and he is not considering running in the future, but it mostly was a hypothetical scenario. scenarioscenar

Reactions: Random
I have no answer, but have

I have no answer, but have thought about this several times. I have friends who have had complete knee or hip replacements and they were all told never to run again. Obviously there is still some impact from running, even barefoot and artificial joints rarely last more than 20 years. Would it mean that the joint just needs replaced earlier?

Increase in impact force?