Barefoot Marathon in Antarctica, History in the Making

11-Stars

Barefooters
Jan 24, 2013
Raleigh, North Carolina
I'm a newbie here and I ran my first barefoot marathon (26.2 miles) on December 30, 2012. I have since run two more full marathons totally barefoot, i.e. no duct tape or anything to protect my soles. My only training was that I have worn Vibrams on 67 previous full marathons.

Anyway, I will attempt to become the first person in history to complete a Full Marathon (26.2 Miles) totally barefoot in Antarctica. The marathon will be held February 25, 2013, on King George Island (http://marathon-adventures.com/WhiteContinent2013.html).

I received confirmation from several runners and race organizers of the Antarctica Marathons that nobody has ever completed a Full 26.2 Marathon totally barefoot in Antarctica. The first official marathon in Antarctica was on January 28, 1995, and since then there have been at least 1 or 2 full and half marathons per year (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antarctica_Marathon). I sent a request to the Guinness World Record asking for confirmation but will not be hearing back from them for at least another 4 weeks.

By the way, I'm doing this for the Gawad Kalinga (http://gk-usa.org/), a charitable organization to build homes for poverty-stricken families in the Philippines.

Wish me luck!!! I'm gonna need it!

Welcome! You're going to run this marathon in a few days, but you won't hear back from Guinness for a month? Don't they have to be in the planning prior to the event and possibly have someone on staff attending, recording, taking pictures, video, etc.?

However, good luck. Please keep us informed of how you do.

Thank you for the best wishes, Barefoot TJ and dutchie53!