barefoot and pregnant

ladycheshire5

Barefooters
Aug 16, 2011
I run barefoot. But I haven't run too much during my pregnancy,I was on pelvic rest first trimester and life has been pretty busy. But I continue to walk and do jog intervals as I can sometimes I get weird abdominal pains I guess is just the stretching of my muscles and tissues.then I walk. I have continued to wear minimal shoes at work, I work as a mammography tech. My legs, ankles and feet are swelling.I am 7 mos now. Any thoughts on what I should and should not do at this point?

Hi Laura - as you begin to enter the final months of pregnancy I would be very careful with the level of activity you do - and the level of minimal / barefoot activity you do. As we begin to enter the final months of pregnancy a woman's body begins to release the hormone relaxin which will cause all the ligament (including those in the foot) to become lax or loose.

If you want to have the easiest return to activity with minimal changes in your body, I recommend wearing supportive footwear and compression stockings while at work. If you stand long hours on an unforgiving floor, you are asking for unnecessary pain to the feet, legs and lower back.

I am all pro-minimalist and barefoot activity but when your are pregnant you want to preserve your body so that you can return to all your favorite activities and past times with minimal downtime or pain.

Hope this helps!

Hi Laura - as you begin to enter the final months of pregnancy I would be very careful with the level of activity you do - and the level of minimal / barefoot activity you do. As we begin to enter the final months of pregnancy a woman's body begins to release the hormone relaxin which will cause all the ligament (including those in the foot) to become lax or loose............
If you want to have the easiest return to activity with minimal changes in your body, I recommend wearing supportive footwear and compression stockings while at work. ...................