A bit of sibling rivalry...

Barefoot Mary

Barefooters
Jul 27, 2010
Denver, CO
Hey all.

I've been down in the dumps lately about my sister. She bought a pair of VFFs and (after maybe 1/2 a mile of barefoot training, twice outside with her soles on the ground) she's running 6 miles every other day. Sometimes two days in a row. She's never run previous to this, not in years. She has also mistreated her feet with ill-fitting shoes for a long time. She's not the barefoot type. I've been telling her to go slow but she lives a long ways away from me. She says she's feeling great! No pains, no aches, perfect. She just keeps running and running. Some calf pain, that's it.

Meanwhile, I'm the cautious sister. I've been working my way up completely barefoot for going on 7 months. My longest distance barefoot has been 5 miles, once, by accident. Recently my left foot started acting up. TMTS, TOFP. I've been hobbling around, RICEing, and running 1 milers a couple times a week while my tendons are healing. I'm pretty sure I was overstriding only on my left side.

What is going on?!?!? My sofa-loving sister is tearing it up in her Vibrams and I'm stuck icing my feet. Husband says it's because barefoot running is more strenuous than VFF running, but I think she's cruisin for a bruisin...but she says she feels fine. She hasn't read any literature, she hasn't watched any video, she hasn't studied form or been as researched as I have. What gives!?!?!

It makes me feel like a loser.... :puzzled:

My guess is that she would be

My guess is that she would be doing even better than she is barefoot, and you would be suffering even more if you were a VFF user.

Life's just not always fair.

She was probably VERY born to run but never even knew it.

Yeah, she's probably just a

Yeah, she's probably just a natural.

I suppose I could be mature and say "It's not a competition, we're all here to grow," etc.