TOFP and stretching

CJPHD

Barefooters
Aug 12, 2010
Hi everyone,

I am new to minimalist/barefoot running and too have been suffering from TOFP. There seem to be an abundance of posts that indicate that TOFP is a lingering issue for people. I have found something that seems pretty promising in terms of relieving the pain.

A little background: A month ago I went for my first run in my Bikilas, 1 mile, and I was hooked. Prior to that run I was doing 30-40 miles a week in my cushy Sauconys. So, I was getting plenty of miles on my legs. Took a few days off after my 1 mile interlude due to soreness and then restarted my running program.

Up to this week I had been wearing my Bikilas for runs of 6 miles (much slower but still running) and under (3 days a week) and my Sauconys for long runs on Fridays. There was some definite soreness in the first week, second week was better, third even better, and this week all miles have been run in my Bikilas with the exception of 1 barefoot run of 6 miles and no blisters! The barefoot run was simply awesome. Really slow at 11 minutes a mile compared to normal pace of about 9:30 but awesome nonetheless.