The Barefoot Running Coach Certification Alternative

stop-believing-in-authority.jpg
The Barefoot Running Coach Certification Alternative
By Jason Robillard

This topic has been raised again recently in the forums here, and prompted the creation of the new Coach Talk forum; be sure to check it out. Thank you, Jason, for allowing us to republish your article. ~TJ

The barefoot running coach certification issue has created quite the firestorm of opinions, which I love. More and more barefoot runners are weighing in on the issue. Christian’s recent post has been one of the best, and not only because he agreed with some of my issues. At the end of the post, Christian states that barefoot running coach certification is acceptable because it’s better than the alternative, which is nothing.

If there were no alternative, I would agree.

Fortunately, there IS an alternative!

First, some perspective. I was a high school teacher for twelve years. Our system of formal education here in the US and most of the Western World is based on the idea that an all-knowing “teacher” will impart knowledge on inferior “students.” While we liked to talk about teaching things like critical thinking and logical discourse, we really spent all our time teaching students how to conform and be obedient to authority.

Such is the nature of a meritocracy.

We forced kids to jump through hoops to earn “credentials” like a diploma. Those that followed the rules like good sheep were rewarded. Those that rebelled against the system were punished until they fell in line. If they didn’t fall in line, they were banished for the system (dropouts.)

Creativity and original thought was only allowed if it fell within the acceptable range allowed by the “expert” (the teacher.) REAL original thought and dissent was ruthlessly crushed.

The Problem With Any Certification Program

What does this have to do with barefoot running coach certification?