Strange forefoot/2nd met pain

kozz

Barefooters
Jan 6, 2011
I will include as much technical detail as possible in hope of getting useful suggestions.

background: I've been running barefoot for over 4 years, have never worn minimalist shoes, weigh 180 pounds but am fast. I focus on short middle distance and never race above 5k. During summer training I've altered my form by adjusting my center of mass forward a bit.

onset: after a 3k run at lactate threshold, I felt a focused pain in my right foot centered under the 2nd and 1st metatarsal shafts, interfering with and weakening push-off. This subsided after about 5 minutes of walking and remained a dull but annoying ache during about 2k of cool-down jogging.

persistence: rested for 4 days. During this time, pain occurred when standing up, centered around the 2nd metatarsal. It was sharp at times but did not feel like a SF, more like an acute tear to soft tissue. It seemed to migrate around to the inter-metatarsal spaces, to the lower muscles and fascia (FDB and FHB), to ordinary TOFP, and forward to under the 2nd metatarsal head. I supposed that inflammation was occurring.

This pain was not severe but was annoying enough to affect my gait when initially standing and walking. It did not improve over the 4 days, however it was no hindrance at all to walking, jumping, or other athletic movements and tended to decrease rather than increase when bearing weight.