site suggestion: How-To in the main site menu

stomper

Now that BRS is open to the public, there may be a lot of people coming here looking for advice about this whole barefoot running thing. In the running forum, there's a "Barefoot 101" sticky by Last Place Jason that is good.

I wonder if we should make a select set of this basic info even more obvious to the complete newb.

I'm thinking about the site's main menu bar... Home | Forums | Blogs | ...

If there was room for one more category in that menu bar, I might add How-To.

This would link to a page (or a drop down menu) with a VERY select list of links for beginners... for example to the "barefoot 101" post, and anything else that the admins/editors of the site think is just about the most reasonable and reliable info we have.

For more detail and anything else this page can direct newbs to the forums.

Just my $0.02.

Zum and I spoke about this

Zum and I spoke about this too. This is what I posted before: http://www.barefootrunners.org/build2/forum-topic/share-me-your-favorite-barefoot-running-etc-related-books

I envision a tab at the top of our (that's all of us) site that reads Library. Once it is opened we have categories with lists of emperical evidence, research, articles, books, and movies all related to the benefits of barefoot and minimalist running. I started a list a long time ago on "that other forum" that got stickied to the top there. We can borrow that, or if Jason has been expanding upon it, we can just grab his.