Resistance training... A compatible platform for minimalist training?

Hi, I'm brand new to running, and brand new to minimalist running. I have weight-trained in the past, using resistance methods. I found my 1RM for each major muscle group, then lifted 70-80% of that VERRRY SLLLOWWWLY until I could do no more reps, and increasing the weight used each workout day. No stretching immediately before or after, two to three days between workouts, 20 minutes each workout, eating every 3 hours to provide raw material for the muscle I was building.
Now that I'm looking to begin training in minimalist shoes, and working my way up to interval training in them for my first goal as a brand new baby runner, I'm wondering if resistance training is a helpful way to get my body ready for forefoot striking. Can anyone help me out with the whys and hows of this? I'd prefer to avoid injury caused by ignorance! XD I'm also wondering if the increased storing of kinetic energy in connective tissue needs the support of bone broths and such. I hope my question is clear, I'll try to word it differently if it's muddy.

Reactions: Sid
Hi, I'm brand new to running, and brand new to minimalist running. I have weight-trained in the past, using resistance methods. I found my 1RM for each major muscle group, then lifted 70-80% of that VERRRY SLLLOWWWLY until I could do no more reps, and increasing the weight used each workout day. No stretching immediately before or after, two to three days between workouts, 20 minutes each workout, eating every 3 hours to provide raw material for the muscle I was building.