left heel blister

I'm an old soldier, so I've been running for 25 years, all distances, all speeds, with or without weight, road or forest. I'm no stranger to running. But I've developed a right hip problem (confirmed over-use induced arthritis plus who knows what else) that has pushed me to try to find a way to run more sustainably after a 1-year hiatus from running entirely.

I love to be outside, I don't want a hip replacement if I can avoid one, and I can confirm that I now passionately hate elliptical machines, although I'm grateful to the one I used to keep my heart in shape for that year off from running.

I started running again about 3 months ago, but only 3x/week, and no more than 4 miles at a stretch. In looking for a more sustainable way to get outside and to keep running if at all possible, I started barefoot running 3 weeks ago. I'm going slow as Christmas, and I'm all the way up to 3/4 of a mile at a time, 3 times a week now. I'm trying to focus on form and tactical injury prevention, watching my path ahead closely, keeping my toes out of sidewalk cracks, and trying to land mid-foot in contrast to my 25 years of landing hard on my heels.

The soles of my feet are toughening up a little bit as I had anticipated, but I have just developed a blister about 1/2-inch across in the center of my left heel pad.

Can one of you more experienced folks help the grasshopper out - what am I doing wrong?

Thanks,
Phil

Phil, I'll give it a

Phil, I'll give it a go...

I've been bf since Apr. '10, but I never got blisters on my heels. I have had plenty on the balls of my feet & toes from pushing off. I "think" I'm getting better with my form and am past that stage (meaning I didn't get blisters last time out). ;)

I read somwhere (I think) that heel blisters are caused by heel striking, although less heel striking than in shoes.