Good runs in St. Paul for someone new to Barefoot Running?

Discussion in 'Chapters' started by Kyrrinstoch, Jun 5, 2014.

1. Kyrrinstoch Barefooters
    1. Minnesota

Message Count:
    Hey all, I'm hoping to find some good pathes/trails to run in the St. Paul area. I'm still new to running barefoot and would like to see what trails/pathes people in the area prefer (and hopefully why).
    Bare Lee and paulbeales like this.
  2. Steve Modica Barefooters
    1. Minnesota

Message Count:
    I run down in IGH. I guess my favorite paths are good, smooth blacktop. Blaine Avenue all the way down to highway 42 is great. When blacktop gets older, it start to get gritty and it's a lot less pleasant.
    Bare Lee and paulbeales like this.
  3. Bare Lee Chapter Presidents
    1. Minnesota

Message Count:
    Kyrrinstoch,

I live close to 280. Phalen Lake is about three miles in circumference and has pretty smooth asphalt. Lake Como is about 1.7 miles around and is a little bit rougher. Those are the two best lakes I know of in St. Paul. Minneapolis of course also has great lake paths and the Midtown Greenway. Pretty much any path along the river, from downtown St. Paul to downtown Minneapolis, is good, although down by Crosby Lake the asphalt is pretty degraded and rough. From Ford Parkway Bridge to Hennepin Bridge there are lots of bridge-to-bridge options. Passing Phalen Lake, there's also the Bruce Vento Trail, which is really nice but doesn't work for a circuit. There's also the Trout Creek Trail, passing Lake McCarrons, which is a good connecting path on a longer route through the neighborhoods. East of Saint Paul, there are some nice, compacted dirt trail options in Lake Elmo Park Reserve, especially around Eagle Point Lake. Further east, Afton has some good trails.

Those are my main running areas, besides sidewalks through neighborhoods. Summit Avenue is also nice, but there are stop lights every half mile.