frustrated newbie mileage update (long way to go)

shawshank

Barefooters
Jun 8, 2011
I posted in the newbie forum & got some great advice from the BF community. I was going to continue my post in the newbie forum, but thought it was more relevant for mileage reporting.

I have been running 35-40 miles a week for the past 5-10 years. In shoes. I have done some reading on BFR & have started the journey. It has been "one step forward, 3 steps back" in my first attempt.

Here is how I started out.

WEEK 1: first try

5 mins BFR, day off, 5 mins BFR, day off, 10 min BFR. All of these runs @ a slow pace, trying to relax my calves & ankles & arms/shoulders, focus on lifting my feet & increasing my cadence. I also ran on smooth hard surfaces (e.g., concrete)

WEEK 2: first try

5 min BFR, 7 min BFR.

My calves cramped up so I stopped BFR for about 2 weeks, focused on cross-training (biking, yoga, swimming, elliptical) & posted under the NEWBIE forum to get some advice from more experienced BFR. Made some changes that included: (1) rolling my calves to massage them & work out any places that are especially tight; (2) walking around barefoot whenever possible & focusing on lifiting my feet when walking.

WEEK 1: second try @ BFR [running on smooth hard surface = indoor track @ my gym]

5 min BFR, day off, 5 min BFR, 2 days off, 10 min BFR. All of these runs @ a slow pace, trying to relax my calves & ankles & arms/shoulders, focus on lifting my feet & increasing my cadence. Still rolling my calves 3x a day. Trying to place a tennis ball or baseball under my calves to loosen them up (thanks for the tip zapmamak!). Cross training w/ elliptical in VIBRAMS (@ the gym), wearing VIBRAMS or going barefoot 100% of the time, increasing my distance swimming (up to 2400 m 4x a week), & biking if it is not 120 degrees outside. :) NOTE that I tried 2 days off before the 10 min BFR.

WEEK 2: second try @ BFR