DQed for Running in Bare Feet! By Janice Nicholls

girlonline.jpg

DQed for Running in Bare Feet!By Janice Nicholls
Well, it has been a day. I have been racing in triathlons since 1995. My first race was in Barrie, Ontario (where I had a panic attack and near drowning experience in the swim) and today I returned to Barrie for the first time since then to race again. And I got disqualified for running in bare feet.

Turns out there is a rule about bare feet in triathlon. I've never read all the rules -- there is a top 10 list provided on the Ontario Association of Triathletes website, but I've not read through the full set of rules. Until today. That's when I found the rules that got me the DQ.

"6. RUNNING CONDUCT:
6.1. General Rules:
a.) The athletes will:
....(iv) Not run without shoes or run barefoot on any part of the course;"

These rules are the one that triathlons sactioned by the Ontario Association of Triathletes (OAT) must follow. They come from the International Triathlon Union.

I have to say that I am feeling pretty down about having a DQ by my name. In the results, I'm listed at the end. My husband and I had to look through the rest of the results to see where I would have ranked without the DQ. Turns out it was pretty good. Seventh out of 22 women in my age group. I was pretty happy about that. I was also extremely happy about my swim. 700m in open water and I never once got scared. That's an absolute first for me. After my bad experience in 1995, I was afraid of open water. I've worked really hard to overcome this fear and I think I've finally done it.

My daughter raced in the Kids of Steel category and she did awesome. She's just 10, yet her per kilometre run time was faster than mine. She didn't get a DQ because she wore her Vibrams. Smart girl:)