Barefoot on the Beach - any tips?

Brand new here, but I've been running in VFF's on asphalt, concrete, and dirt for several years now, and figured a good place to run with my feet truly nekked would be a hard, wet-sand beach with a gentle slope.

Is my reasoning OK here? I've always heard that running barefoot on the beach will rip up your calves, but I'm assuming it's the barefoot and not the beach that does most of the ripping. Just coming off of a strained calf, so I don't want to mess up my recovery, but the beach is calling... calling...

Thanks in advance for any tips or advice!

I would avoid running in the deep sand, since you are still developing your calf muscles to the new way of running. If you have to run on the sand, run along the water's edge where it's more packed.

As TJ said, go for the water's edge. Running on soft sand can be frustrating because you waste a lot of energy "deforming" the sand, hence it slows down you a lot.
Once on the edge, the only problem might be having to run on an inclined plane, so you won't be stepping on a perfectly leveled surface.
Also, if you go early in the morning during the winter you'd be surprised to know how cold the sand can get overnight.
Cheers!

Reactions: Barefoot TJ
Even hard sand can allow you to use bad form where asphalt and concrete are not as forgiving. Grass is the same thing. I would spend time learning to run on asphalt and concrete and then run on the beach as a treat. Barefoot Bob Saxton wrote about this in his book and I have to say I would agree with him.

Even hard sand can allow you to use bad form where asphalt and concrete are not as forgiving. Grass is the same thing. I would spend time learning to run on asphalt and concrete and then run on the beach as a treat. Barefoot Bob Saxton wrote about this in his book and I have to say I would agree with him.